Skip to content

Nonfiction

November 13, 2011

High schools hadn’t previously been approached in my system, class visits by my branch usually stopped at gr. 3. Now that I’m starting teen programming and there will be an actual teen space in the new branch I want to reach out to the teens and let them know they are welcome at the library. I’ve scheduled a couple of presentations at the high school and I wanted to book-talk a bit of nonfiction before speaking about the events and our online resources.

Even though my position doesn’t specifically include collection development (that’s at HQ not the branches) they usually take my suggestions for specific titles or areas I identify gaps. Nonfiction for teens has definitely been a gap. We have your typical books about puberty and dating, some study guides, and the odd bit of awesomeness like Ductigami, the Marvel and DC Encyclopedias, graphic novel versions of classic mythology, and Green Careers. But I wanted more.

I started off looking at YALSA’s recommended nonfiction, but found that many of the books were very American and not suited to our collection. I also browsed through the YA nonfiction or highlighted new nonfiction of several large library systems in Canada and found some good books for the collection but not really anything I was excited about booktalking.

I came across Zest Books and while I haven’t read their books yet they have some really cool looking titles. They also have a library resource center where they give suggestions for booktalks.

As I continue to work on improving our nonfiction suggestion I’ll post what titles are well received by the teens. Does anyone have a good collection development resource for YA nonfiction?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Pam permalink
    November 13, 2011 7:46 pm

    Ontario Library Association’s White Pine Non-Fiction Top Ten List would be a great place to start your quest for great Canadian non-fiction titles. This is a new “branch” of OLA’s Forest of Reading.

    Some of the teen-friendly titles are Russell Peters’ new autobiography Call Me Russell, Will To Survive by Survivor Man Les Stroud, a graphic novel called Two Generals by Scott Chantler, and ID: Stuff That Happens to Define Us by Kate Scowen and Peter Mitchell.

    The kids in my high school library, and in particular, the boys, are very enthusiastic about the list!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

