Skip to content

YA Lit: Goodbye 2010, Hello 2011!

January 6, 2011

Happy New Year CLASY!

I received Booklist’s online newsletter in my inbox this morning and found a rather amusing article in it called My 2011 YA Wishlist. In it, the author writes a list of 7 things he’s sick of seeing in YA lit, including the ever-popular “Vampires, Half-Vampires, Werewolves, Were-Anythings, Fallen Angels, Dark Angels, Fairies, Faeries, Faeiraes, and Fyeiryes.” Yeah, that gave me a good chuckle.

But when I scrolled down to read the comments, one commenter basically said who cares what us adults and reviewers think of YA books and what we’re sick of, because as much as we love to read and discuss YA lit, we aren’t its intended audience. I thought she had a totally valid point.

Teens are going to read what they read whether we think its awesome, only slightly awesome, or only fit to prop open our doors. They’re going to swoon over the fairies, faeries, faeiraes, and fyeiryes no matter what we do, and those emotional, one-word titles like Anguish with pictures of an attractive gal’s face on the cover is going to get ‘em, every time.

My question to you is (a) what YA trends are you right sick of and will be happily bidding farewell to, and (b) what are you hoping for in 2011?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Vivien Hogg permalink
    January 6, 2011 3:17 pm

    Ha! That’s awesome!! (both the original statement in the article and the comment) They’re really both so true, in my opinion. And it’s something that I know a number of us have been talking about lately at work. (And which I’m really really REALLY looking forward to hearing about more in Ottawa next week!!)

    Personally, I’m sick of what I consider (and I’ve got to say – and maybe apologize for it – that I’m an elitist when it comes to paranormal fiction) knock off paranormals…..And I classify them as ones that random authors *cough* publishers *cough* are jsut throwing out there to fill up the market. If you can take out the paranormal aspect of the story and it’s still the same story, then it’s a knock off.

    As for what I’m looking forward to…..I think I’m wanting to see more of the survivor-esque books come out (read The Maze Runner). And I think steampunk is really starting to make a stronger show for the YA lately (which we’ve got Scott Westerfeld to thank for), which, when you add in all the upcoming Victorian era books, makes a nice list of books to read in 2011! Bring it on!!

    side note – For any people who may have been offended by my comment, so ya know – I still read all the books, and for the most part, enjoy each and every one of them!! I think it just bugs me that there are SO many really really GOOD paranormal books out there (though considered ‘adult’ rather than ‘ya’), that it sucks seeing teens fawn over books that really just aren’t anywhere near as good. But them’s the breaks. Meh.

  2. January 6, 2011 5:29 pm

    I’m sick of clueless women not recognizing the guys in their life are crazy about them. I loved the Hunger Games, The Body Finder and a bunch more books that have this flaw where it’s really drawn out and obvious but the leading lady doesn’t keep up.

    Forever Young Adult had a good list of resolutions for YA publishing.

    Amy’s right though, it doesn’t matter what we are sick of, it matters what the teens are sick of.

  3. January 6, 2011 7:39 pm

    Vivien, you’ll be happy to know that this is definitely on the list of questions we gave to the YA Lit panelists. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

